All Things Sports

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | ... | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
30 Mar 2007 10:22 PM by Smiley Star rating in San Pedro de Alcanta.... 2502 posts Send private message

Smiley´s avatar

Hi Pete praps one day I will write a book - not sure anyone would read it - I spent the best part of 20 years as a broker in the wholesale money markets trading interest rate products and then off balance sheet derivatives. It was a hard life before the mast .- no really it was a massive laugh - mates used to ask me what I did for a living and my stock answer was "tell lies and drink large amounts of Vodka" - there was a very serious side to it all the same and phenomenal amounts of money were being traded every day - most important was that it was enjoyable - but the stories oh god the stories - invariably revolving around a boozer somewhere or someone letting themselves down when they were pissed! One particular afternoon I was in a basement wine bar with a pal - decided too pissed to go back to work and so between us we consumed 13 bottles of Pino Grigio wine - I had an argument with a fag machine coz no fags came out after I had failed to put any money in - they had just emptied it when I came along and started to rip it off the wall complaining I had been ripped off - so they opened it and lo and behold - no money - would have been embarrassed (not) if I had been sober enough. A little later I disappeared to the loo only to walk back intot the bar with my pinstripe trousers round my ankles - very elegant I looked too apparently. I had to be poured into a cab - my mate batted on and showed me his bill for the pub after the bar the next day and he reckoned about another 8 pints of Guinness on top and I believe it because he could drink - both of us back on it the next day  - there is a plethora of other stories mostly relating to trains but