IBI demand

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
14 Dec 2016 9:54 AM by Firefly Star rating in Manchester/Javea. 56 posts Send private message

As a non resident I find it difficult to be in Spain when my IBI is due. Up until now I guess I have been lucky and have been around and paid it on time. 

However this year I missed it, (illness in the family etc). I have received a letter titiled "Notification de la Diligencia de embargo de bienes inmuebles" demanding the original payment of E250 plus additional costs of E185.52 which seems a bit high. I dont mind  10%-20% charge for being late. There is no obvious indication of how to pay this bill.

The property is in Javea, does anyone know

1. How I go about paying this bill? Do I take the letter to my bank or to the Town hall?

2. Are these additional charges normal? Seems a little unfair to nearly double the charge.

3. Is it possible to set up a Direct Debit for this to be paid?

Any help would be appreciated.

Like 0      
14 Dec 2016 11:14 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

I have paid such accounts by DD for around 30 years, Has worked well

In your case now I would suggest you go the the town hall and sort it.  You may even be allowed to pay with a UK based credit card.

Like 0      
14 Dec 2016 11:30 AM by Team GB Star rating. 1245 posts Send private message

Team GB´s avatar

Firefly

However this year I missed it

Do you mean 2015 or 16? I can't believe they have started embargo procedings for non payment of 2016 IBI 

Have you inadvertenly missed a year?

As John says the only way to sort it out is to contact the town hall

Like 0      
14 Dec 2016 12:13 PM by Firefly Star rating in Manchester/Javea. 56 posts Send private message

Hi Johnzx and Team GB,