Driving my English car in Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
27 Jul 2016 2:02 AM by sam0890 Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

I have been working in Spain for the last 16 months, I have an NIE but I have no idea if I am classed as a resident as I do not have a residency card. 

All I have is a paper NIE.

In May, my boyfriend moved over to Spain, bringing my UK registered car with him.

It was my understanding that a UK registered car can be driven in Spain for 6 months before the plates have to be changed.

Is this still the case for me even though I have been living here for over a year.

And my boyfriend is also now working here with an NIE. Are either of us legally allowed to drive the English car.

We both only plan on staying here until April next year so dont want to change the plates, only to have to change them back.

Thank you

Like 0      
27 Jul 2016 7:11 AM by newworld Star rating. 942 posts Send private message

If your insurance is with a uk insurance company many only cover you for 90days outside the the UK,and that normally it drops to 3rd party cover outside the uk, even if your policy is fully comp in the uk.

Like 0      
27 Jul 2016 10:39 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

As soon as you decided to work in Spain you automatically became resident with the requirement to register on the EU Citizen Register (often but incorrectly called Residencia).    A person so registered cannot drive a non-Spanish registered vehicle except in an emergency.

The same applies to your bf he must register.