LEGAL HELP Does this sound right to you?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
17 Oct 2011 12:00 AM by lucas423 Star rating. 10 posts Send private message

I am a spanish resident and want to buy a  250K property in spain from an irishman privately.

I cannot get a mortgage from the bank so he has offered to act as a bank as long as i put 50K down and pay 1500euros with 4% interest a month for 5 years and then i must find a loan to pay him the rest at the end of the 5 years.

He will hold on to the deeds until i get him all of the money in 5 years .

i  am confident i can keep up the payments but i am worried that he is holding onto the deeds and that i could lose all my money after 5 years if he doesnt hand over the deeds.

We would obviousley get contracts drawn up for security but could i still get stung in the end????

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks.

Like 0      
17 Oct 2011 8:44 AM by cazzy Star rating in Inland Andalucia. 180 posts Send private message

Providing it is dealt with buy a solicitor there should be no problem. I expect he will add a default clause so that if you don't keep up the payments the property will revert to him and you will loose everything you have paid.

One of our clients is doing the exact same thing at the moment and everything is working out well. They are not charging interest though, and the monthly payments will be deducted from the total owed at the end. 

A lot of property owners who do not need all of the money out of their properties are offering this sort of financing now as a way to sell their houses, as bank mortgages are few and far between!!

Like 0      
17 Oct 2011 8:50 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message