stay in uk

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
18 Mar 2009 12:00 AM by tweety5 Star rating. 42 posts Send private message

It was my dream to live in spain, for years i watched programs like "House in the sun" "Escape to the sun ect.       Eventually we sold up our home in the uk and arrived with £189000.We purchased a house outright and still had money in the bank, my husband and i got jobs, but eventually we discovered that nothing is reliable over here, we had bar jobs, got very settled then the owners sold and moved on., we worked for property companies, they went bust, i worked as a cook in a restaurant for two years, i loved it, was very happy, then the owners moved back to uk and closed it down,...and so it went on...jobs in the summer/sometimes two jobs!   then nothing in the winter/..needless to say  eventually the savings started to disapear.  We are now in the same position as thousands of "dreamers"  we have no jobs, and no money, and can hardly afford to eat let alone pay the bills! We are trying to sell our dream home, we have reduced the price so much, but no luck yet..i am now ill and need to go back to uk, and i am stuck. I have lived here eight years, i have worked at a multitude of jobs/through no fault of my own as i said earlier/  it does  not get any easier,Men cannot get on all the building sites here, because the spanish employ morrocans ect and pay them peanuts., there is no way to earn a decent wage, and most bosses treat you like dirt because they know another hundred people will come through the door for your jobs, Living here is great if you have plenty of money or are a pensioner, apart from that i would think very carefully before you completly give up your life in the uk.A lot of my friends have children that do not even go to school, and when they leave, what future do they have here?/waitressing, bar work in the summer, nothing in