Fee hike without warning - legal?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
14 Nov 2019 3:57 PM by AmandaND Star rating. 4 posts Send private message

Hi all, newbie here so aplogies if this has been covered before. I live in a comunity of 11 apartments and the community fees have historically (for the 30 years) been split equally between the 11 apartments. The presedent just announced that the fee structure is changing based on square footage which means my fees will increase three times! He claim's they are simply bringing our fee's in line with Spanish law but this is crazy and not an affordable hike. So I'm looking for guidance on the following:

1) Is there actually a law which states that community fees must be split by square footage?

2) Can my fees really be increased by such a level without any warning or agreement? If the fees were that high when I purchased the apartment I wouldn't have gone through with it so it doesn't feel right that it can be forced upon me in such a way.

Any advice here would be hugely valuable and greatly recieved. 

Like 0      
14 Nov 2019 4:34 PM by nitram Star rating in castalla. 175 posts Send private message

HPL States . Community fees are based on you couta per particapation so yes will go up, Sure others on here will give you more details, but in the mean time look at Horizontal Property Law

Like 0      
14 Nov 2019 4:39 PM by Kavanagh Star rating in Oil Drum Lane Newcas.... 1315 posts Send private message

Kavanagh´s avatar

Hello Amanda and welcome to EOS

You really need to go see a Spanish Lawyer who is trustworthy and experienced in these matters. Unless you are lucky enough for member Maria L. Castro to comment you are only likely to receive best guess advice.