Driving to spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
08 May 2019 6:25 PM by rosie0908 Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

I have to drive from Hertfordshire to Murcia with my dog this weekend or Monday at latest. I have sorted out the car insurance. I've got the euros....But nothing else. I'm going to buy 2 triangles for the car but here is the thing...It's an emergency situation and although I've been to Spain a few times I have never driven there, so can someone tell me the easist route for complete beginners and how i pay for toll roads. Thank you.

Like 0      
08 May 2019 7:46 PM by Kavanagh Star rating in Oil Drum Lane Newcas.... 1315 posts Send private message

Kavanagh´s avatar

Toll roads you can pay by cash €s which you can get at any bank or by credit/debit card which you can also get at a bank.

Drive on the left once you reach Spain.

It is advisable to have a first aid kit, a bottle of water, some food, a blanket and a mobile phone with you.

This message was last edited by Kavanagh on 08/05/2019.

Like 1      
08 May 2019 7:50 PM by Marksfish Star rating in Vera, Almeria. 2626 posts Send private message

Marksfish´s avatar

Never done it before, but I have looked at doing it myself in the past. Driving through France would be the best and quickest, as opposed to boat to Santander. Google Maps shows several options. I imagine the toll booths have options to pay by cash or credit card, they have on the AP-7, so I see no reason it would be any different. Don't forget your hi viz and beam converters, plus GB sticker if not on your number plates. You are supposed to have a breathalyser in France, but in reality the law isn't enforced and the fine is only 15€ anyway.