Buying a 15 year old property with no escritura

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
08 Jun 2015 12:48 PM by vinuela Star rating. 4 posts Send private message

We are considering buying a 15 year old detached house In a village. It has the necessary construction permissions from the ayuntamiento but the Spanish owners have not bothered to get an escritura. They pay IBI so it has a cadastral value. What are the implications of no escritura and what is the process to obtain one?

Like 1      
08 Jun 2015 8:20 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4552 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

I have no direct experience of such a situation, but purely based on 18 years of living and working in this country, I would say that there are plenty of problems to had for free, so why buy one?

Plenty more fish in the sea. Barge poles come to mind. Just my humble opinion and no offence meant. Best of luck with whatever you decide to do. wink

"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please"

Mark Twain

Like 1      
09 Jun 2015 11:10 AM by acer Star rating. 1529 posts Send private message

Why not communicate with the vendors and let them know you're interested in buying, but if they wish to sell to you they should obtain the escritura?

They will probably tell you it's unnecessary, this is the Spanish way blah blah, but stick to your guns.  At least there will be a chance that they might get the problem resolved - otherwise I agree with Roberto, no way Jose.

Like 0      
09 Jun 2015 1:48 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4552 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

Thought there'd be more answers to this one by now, but since there aren't, I'll stick my oar in a bit further!