Is 'now' the time to buy in Spain… is the wait finally over?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
16 Feb 2015 11:53 AM by eos_ian Star rating in Valencia. 506 posts Send private message

eos_ian´s avatar

Month after month, week after week, news reports are published about how the property market is improving. The following news reports published over the past few weeks are evidence of it. Some say the market still has another 15-20% to fall, but I'm not so sure. Then again I am no expert but at least in Valencia I don't see the prices going down or going up, they are stagnant and talking to estate agents they all seem to agree that they can only go up. As for the the hundreds of thousands of proprties that haven't been sold, I think for many of the them there situation is that they are valueless, ie. they will never sell, as there will never be another property boom.

The problem with many of these properties is that they are built in areas where no one really wants to live, and even at rock bottom prices they aren't moving. The bubble bursting changed everyone's mentality and no one wants to buy or risk buying on an empty urbanisation. While the craze was on, everything sold, but as soon as it stopped, these more isolated cheaper developments have been abandonned and forgotten about. So if you remove these properties from the equation I think there is a strong argument to say that the property market is on its way up, especially in desirable areas, be it town, city or coast.

Do you agree?

Property values buoyant