I don't have a legal resident contract and my landlord won't help me get an Empadronamiento?!

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
28 Sep 2016 1:12 AM by rtrow Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hi,
I've recently moved to Madrid from the UK and will start work next week. I've found a flat and have got my NIE and social security number. Next thing I want to get is my Tarjeta Sanitaria, for which I need the Empadronamiento. However, I'm in a shared flat and I don't have an official rental contract. I asked my landlady but she won't come with me to sign that I'm a resident at her place, and she's telling me that I don't need the Empadronamiento. Is it absolutely essential that I get the Empadronamiento and the Tarjeta Sanitaria? I don't want to lose my fianza but I'll be in Madrid for at least a year, and I'll be paying Social Security so I want to be able to access the things I'm entitled to. Sorry for the long post, any advice would be appreciated!

Like 0      
28 Sep 2016 7:20 AM by mariadecastro Star rating in Algeciras (Cadiz). 9402 posts Send private message

mariadecastro´s avatar

Your rental contract should suffice to get registered in the Padron

Maria L. de Castro, JD, MA

Lawyer

Director www.costaluzlawyers.es

El blog de Maria

Like 0      
28 Sep 2016 8:21 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

rtow:     

I have POA for my son. I gave a friend who is living rent free in my son’s apartment a letter to confirm that.  He registered on the Padron, without any problems.

It is in the interests of the town hall to register residents as the town hall get a subsidy for each person on the register.

When  you said you have NIE, in the situation described,   I expect you meant that you have registered on the EU Citizens Register  (often incorrectly called Residencia)

Like 0