Moving to Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
11 Sep 2016 4:35 PM by kazza72 Star rating. 11 posts Send private message

Hi i am new to this but looking for some advice on moving to spain our minds are made up and are not going to change as this is something both my husband I and family have wanted for such a long time .Our eldest has just moved out and we are hoping to follow soon . Our plan is to be over within the next 18 months ,we are just not sure what would be the best thing to do regaurding one of my childs schooling the youngest we are not worried about as he is still young enough and wont really know any differebt, but its our 14 year old do we stay here and let him finish his schooling or do we bit the bullet and come now ???? this is where we are at !! i know we would have to put him into a private international school but i am wondering if this will benefit him much more than staying here ? any advice will be very much appriciated Thanks x 

Like 0      
11 Sep 2016 5:25 PM by tteedd Star rating in Hertfordshire & Punt.... 990 posts Send private message

There has been lots of previous discussion on this subject.

I would say wait until they have left school.

Too many buggered up UK kids in Spain. They need to finish their education in the UK and decide their own future. Many bright UK kids end up working in expat cafes or painting villas or returning to the UK and not fitting in their either.

Now I really do not have enough information. Your kids may be bi-lingual (English Spanish) and spent much of their life in Spain but I doubt if you would be asking the question if this was the case.

And for yourselves. Are you looking for work? retiring? buying? renting? familiar with Spain?

Well paying work is hard to come by unless you have a profession and are fluent in Spanish. But there are many Brits working servicing the UK community.