Spanish Reg in the UK

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
19 Nov 2017 10:05 PM by code4 Star rating. 14 posts Send private message

I have a Spanish reg car, I am a non resident, I am looking at taking it over to the UK for a couple of months, is there any time restrictions or rules on this, as I live in the UK

Like 0      
19 Nov 2017 10:44 PM by mariedav Star rating in Ciudad Quesada. 1222 posts Send private message

A UK resident cannot drive a foreign registered car in UK unless:

1. They work in another EU member state and use an EU-registered company car on a temporary basis.

2. They lease a EU registered car and use it temporarily in the UK.

3. If the car is not yours, the owner is a non-UK resident and he is sitting in the car with you.

There's also a bit about students but I doubt that would apply to you. 

There will now follow about 500 replies about how Joe Bloggs and the bloke up the pub did it and it was OK. However, the above is from the gov.uk site on using a foreign registered car in UK.

A non UK resident can bring the car into UK for a period not exceeding 6 months or until he becomes a resident in UK when it must be re-registered on UK plates before being used again.

Like 2      
20 Nov 2017 9:06 AM by floella Star rating in SE Spain. 804 posts Send private message

Have no idea about the other 499 replies you might get but certainly a Brit neighbour of mine, still a UK tax resident, takes, and uses,  his Spanish reg car to south London for months at a time. His mentality as.it is his car he is permitted to do so and to date no-one has stopped him. 

However with the horrendous amount of traffic, everywhere, in UK it wouldn't be my choice of transport.

Like 0      
20 Nov 2017 11:47 AM by DazzaJ Star rating in Spain. 46 posts Send private message

Sorry but I do not buy this