Cost of Living and Teaching in Spain.

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
28 Jun 2012 6:49 PM by pmalenoir Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

Hi,

I am considering moving to live in Spain. I am a qualified EFL teacher and from what I can see most salaries range from 1,100 - 1,400 Euro per month. I believe the salary slightly varies according to area as well as establishment; obviously cost of living is higher in Madrid etc.

I will also try to earn a little extra from private tuition.

I would like to know if it is possible to live on this amount and maybe even save a little. I am used to living on a tight budget! I would be flat sharing and using public transport to lower costs.

Also does anyone there have any advice on teaching in Spain or areas to consider or avoid. 

Any advice would be most helpful!

Thank you.

Like 0      
28 Jun 2012 10:41 PM by marcbernard Star rating in Marina Alta; Alicant.... 254 posts Send private message

You would be much better off going to Korea or China

Like 0      
29 Jun 2012 9:40 AM by alysonwenham Star rating in blackpool, england. 83 posts Send private message

let me know if you are interested in Barcelona, you can pm me.

Alyson

Like 0      
29 Jun 2012 10:50 AM by Bri Star rating in North. 591 posts Send private message

Actually, there is plenty of work around for TESL - sadly because so many young Spaniards are learning English so they can leave Spain to find work or improve prospects in Spain.  But yes - you go for it.  My son is taking a break from a busy life in law teaching English in Andalucia.  I would not be surprised if he does not come back!!!!     How much you earn will depend on the kind of contract you negotiate, and they vary enormously - even within the same school.