moveing to spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
15 Aug 2010 12:00 AM by themallard Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

hi we are thinking of movein to spain had enough of england me and the wife age 50 lol we are hoping to rent somewhere hope we can find some brits lol to get to know the area we make our home and we hope to find a little bit of work im a plumber and joiner the wife would like to do a bit of cleaning and house work sick of the weather in britain does any one know if we will be able to get work out there and we dont want lots of money just enough to get bye and have a nice long sunny life in the sun

mr mrs clarke

i

embed

Like 0      
15 Aug 2010 1:18 PM by wend691 Star rating in Lincoln & Rojales (C.... 179 posts Send private message

Hi Mr / Mrs Clarke

I would suggest before making such a major change in your lives through relocation to another country, that you firstly spend a considerable amount of time researching things and have a clear idea of what you want and where you want to be. Key points to consider:

*Have you visited different parts of Spain to know where you would like to live?

*Do you want to live in an expat community? Or be part of a predominantly Spanish community?

*Can you speak Spanish or 'get by'? If not, it is advisable to have lessons before relocating so that you can at least communicate in shops, with the locals etc.

*Do you have sufficient funds to live in Spain for a number of months without work? This is realy important - jobs are very hard to find at the moment and unemployment in Spain is extremely high compared with UK and other European countries. If you cant speak Spanish fluently, it is highly unlikely that you would be able to secure employment with Spanish companies. Conversely, alot of small British ex-pat companies are closing down and people are returning to UK because of the economic climate.