Spanish Bank Charges

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
31 Jan 2010 12:00 AM by bilboles Star rating in Somerset & Valencia .... 6 posts Send private message

bilboles´s avatar

Hi

I hope I am in the right place with this, but please excuse me if I get it wrong, this is my first attempt at using Eye On Spain.

Can anyone out there tell me if all banks in Spain put highly expensive charges on all their accounts? We presently have a property near Xativa in Valencia and we do our banking with BANKINTER, who have recently sent me a lovely little letter telling me that there charges for the year have gone up to €48 per year.

As you can imagine coming from a culture were the banks give us interest for keeping our money in an account, these charges tend to rub one up the wrong way, are there any better ways to bank in Spain?

Please help if you can.

Bilboles

Like 0      
31 Jan 2010 5:08 PM by Sanchez1 Star rating. 853 posts Send private message

Not all banks charge.  Barclays don't charge for example.  Have a look at this blog post for more details.

Cajamar also do a fee free account.  Check this blog post out.

Read my blog: Spain Money Saving Tips and Offers 

Use TransferWise to send money abroad. A lot cheaper than the bank and other online currency exchanges!.

Like 0      
31 Jan 2010 5:11 PM by Maggy Star rating. 33 posts Send private message

Hi Bilboles

My bank charge me 30e a year maintenance and 16 euro's for each cash card total 46 euro's , I am told this is normal as I am a non resident not sure how this compares.

Like 0      
31 Jan 2010 8:24 PM by guslopez Star rating in Lorca, Murcia.. 745 posts Send private message