Totally Worn out struggling to get Witholding Tax on dividends refunded

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
21 Nov 2019 12:24 AM by Despair2 Star rating. 40 posts Send private message

Hi,   I am a UK resident with shares in IAG  /BA and Santander /Abbey National on which 19.5% Witholding Tax has been deducted 

Under Dual Taxation Treaty rules i am entitled to get 9.5% refunded by completing form 210  but Spanish Tax Agency website is now so unsafe that every search engine refuses to allow you to access it .

I now discover that in order to submit a 210  i must first obtain an NIE by actually making an appointment and  going to Spanish Embassy in London and added to train fares i must pay £8.50 for this NIE     and every bit of the stupid form to even obtain an NIE is in Spanish 

Then i find out that in order to even file the 210 i then have to go back to London again complete with NIE number , passport etc  in order to get a Digital Certificate 

It is therefore going to cost me way over £50 for the priveledge of struggling with Spanish in order to even submit a 210 in vain hope of getting back money Spain has absolutely no right to retain 

This is Beurocracy gone completely mad 

Are Spanish residents forced to jump through hoops like this with our HMRC 

Can someone please help me find a way through this maze its taken me months to get this far ...neither Spanish Embassy or Consulate reply to emails or phone calls and i am at my wits end 

Like 0      
21 Nov 2019 9:50 AM by windtalker Star rating. 1934 posts Send private message

If you bought through a UK broker .. complain to the financial ombudsman.

Like 0      
21 Nov 2019 11:19 AM by Despair2 Star rating. 40 posts Send private message

I have had both sets of shares for over 12 years.......this crazy situation has only occured as a result of 2014 Dual Taxation Agreement signed by David Gauke MP