free banking?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
16 Nov 2019 8:36 PM by suejat Star rating. 4 posts Send private message

I've been banking with Deutsche bank for many years, but now they have introduced a 20euro per quarter management charge on my account. It's only a little account that I use for ebay, amazon purchases etc. but always is well in credit. Anyone know of a decent cheaper account--- preferably in english speaking bank??   I'm in northern Catalonia

Thhank guys

Like 0      
17 Nov 2019 11:32 AM by Kavanagh Star rating in Oil Drum Lane Newcas.... 1315 posts Send private message

Kavanagh´s avatar

I doubt there is such a thing as a Spanish English speaking bank. It is probably the luck of the draw of what staff you engage with on the day and that can change on a daily basis. You are in Spain where Spanish is the national language.  There are now many translation aids available from a phrase book to voice translators on a mobile phone.

Do you really need a Spanish bank? Do you have a UK bank account that you could link up to paypal and use for ebay, Amazon etc.

Like 1      
17 Nov 2019 1:04 PM by suejat Star rating. 4 posts Send private message

Thanks for your reply Kavanagh. I do understand that I live in Spain, and have done for more than 20 years. As a Spanish tax payer, I do need a Spanish bank, and yes, Deutsche bank, and Banco Sabadell pride themselves on their multilingual approach to banking. The English speaking bit is not actually the most important bit----- for me the free bit is the most important bit, but both these banks charge between 20, and 35 euros per quarter, and as my account has a turnover of only between 2, and 3 thousand euros per year, and never has a balance less than a thousand euros, I think it's a bit too much!!

Like 1      
17 Nov 2019 1:35 PM by Jarvi Star rating in Halifax UK and Sucin.... 757 posts Send private message