If I knew then what I know now!

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
13 Mar 2014 9:12 PM by mariedav Star rating in Ciudad Quesada. 1222 posts Send private message

Have you got a link for that? Do UK doctors actually put in a bill for treatment of Spanish nationals? I know when I was a nurse there was no procedure for charging EU members anything at all. The Primary Care Trust would only accept the practice taking money from non-EU citizens without visas (and most would have student visas) but the only payment received for a EU national was a temporary resident fee of about £5. Even that stopped when the new contract came in and temporary residents were paid for under the doctors global sum and the temporary resident form wasn't even completed for EU residents. 

I think the UK Universal free at point of access would negate any bills. Perhaps hospitals have a different arrangement.

Like 1      
13 Mar 2014 9:36 PM by baz1946 Star rating. 2328 posts Send private message

The only link I have is what was in the papers this week, or later part of last week, yes I know you cant believe everything you read in the papers but it was quite a long, and it's been an ongoing complaint that the UK is owed millions, Spain as I said one of the worst.

It has been said many times before that although the UK has the means to charge everyone from other countries for medical treatment it wont due to the paperwork and time involved in doing so. No wonder the NHS is in a mess.

We all know that should you fall ill in any country it would have to be a rubbish country and it's doctors to refuse anyone medical care, even America has the basic care and help.

Like 1      
13 Mar 2014 10:24 PM by bobaol Star rating. 2253 posts Send private message

bobaol´s avatar

For some reason,camposol's original post has come down to medical care.