documents needed to open a new bank account.

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
05 Mar 2014 4:57 PM by formentera costa Star rating. 368 posts Send private message

Hi,

I am a resident in spain.

Am not happy with my existing bank so wonder

if any one can recommend any decent banks.

also does anyone know what documents I will need

to take to open an account with another bank as I cannot 

remember what I took with me the last time I opened a new

bank account.

Have googled but cannot find any info telling me what documents

I need.

I presume

passport

.N.I.E.

residency( green paper.)

rental contract.

anything else !!!!!!!!!!!!

coolyes

Like 0      
05 Mar 2014 5:23 PM by mariedav Star rating in Ciudad Quesada. 1223 posts Send private message

That's about it.

Don't know what bank you are with at the moment but they all seem to be about the same but some do have higher charges. I would suggest avoid Bankinter as their charges were going up and up. Some of the banks give you offers when opening an account if that's what you want.

We were with Bankinter, closed that one due to the charges. We were then with both Cam bank and Bancaja. They are now Sabadell and Bankia. We stayed with Bancaja and got free banking if we put a certain amount in each month plus one free debit card. Since they changed to Bankia we still get free banking but they are now charging €19 a year for the debit card.

Pop into a couple and see what they offer. I believe Sabadell and Santander have accounts with no charges for residents but you either have to put a certain amount in each month, about 700 euro I believe, or have a certain amount in all the time, around 2000 euro or so.

Loads of people have come out of banks and gone to Rural but I think that's because they have the lowest charges for non-resident accounts. Don''t know what there deals are for residents, though.