Rental Income - Allowable Expenses

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
07 Oct 2013 10:35 AM by needtoknow Star rating. 6 posts Send private message

I am a Non Resident who rents my property for short term holiday lets

I understand that there a certain expenses that I can claim against the income received, the sort of expenses I have in mind are Utility Bills, Community Charges, perhaps Mortgage Interest, relative to the period of the holiday lets

I would appreciate any guidance on this subject or a least a pointer as to where I can find a definitive list/rules

Like 0      
07 Oct 2013 3:29 PM by elaineG Star rating in Spain . 409 posts Send private message

From a Google search:-  (I cannot confirm it is correct)

Rental income

From 1 January 2011, a reduction of 60% is available against net rental income for residents of Spain before tax is payable, and includes any lettings income from outside Spain but not short-term holiday lets.

The net rental income is the amount of rent due after deducting usual day-to-day running costs for the period in question, including local municipal taxes such as IBI (Impuesto sobre Bienes Inmuebles), repairs and maintenance, managing agents' fees and commissions, interest on loans for purchase or improvement, and depreciation of 3% per year of the cost of the property (excluding the land value). Spanish mortgage interest is allowable provided the mortgage was used to acquire or improve the let property. The tenant is generally required to retain 15% of the rents on account of tax and pay this over to the authorities.