Points on my new driving licence?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
04 Jan 2013 11:35 AM by alan63 Star rating in Orihuela. 50 posts Send private message

alan63´s avatar

I have received a number of letters from trafico to say that Ive got les than 6 points left on my licence and I need to have a re-education classes to get my points back! Im a bit afaid to go to the traffic office as Ive received about 10 of these letter. i cant imagine what Ive done to get so may points as Im a good driver and havent been stopped in Spain or fined for years. Can anyone give me advice?

Like 0      
04 Jan 2013 11:45 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

I just did a search on Google.

At this address       https://apl.dgt.es/WEB_COPACI/consultarPuntos.faces    

You can register and then see what points you have.

I have just gone through the system of registering. 

It was a bit complicated as they require the date when your DL was first valid. 

As mine was changed from a UK  D/L  I had to try the various dates from which I was able to drive cars, bikes, trucks etc.  After a couple of tries I got the right one and then was able to register, they send a confirmation email, then you need to following the directions.

It shows how many point you have  As mine showed 15, i.e. I have not lost any, I cannot tell if  you have lost points,  if the reasons would show up. 

Maybe you, or some else, who has lost some points, could give it try and see what info they can get.

Just for info.

Traffic Offences and Penalties

Spain monitors a driver's traffic offences with a points system. A diving licence starts with a credit of 12 points in the case of experienced drivers, and 8 during a new driver's first three years of driving. Two extra points are awarded for three years without offences, to a maximum of 15 points in total.