roundabouts in Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
17 Mar 2009 9:21 PM by Christian Star rating. 26 posts Send private message

Please don't take the driving on the 'Costas' as the norm of how we drive in Spain. Most people who live North of Despeñaperros (the famous limit between Andalucia and Castilla) would say nobody in the South has ever taken a driving test. And yes, I guess some of you would say I am a crazy driver from Madrid because we have no patience with tourists, Costa locals driving always in the middle of the motorway or drunks like Roberto. But sorry, this is no joke, and no, we do not drive like this in the rest of the country!

To be honest, I don't think there is anywhere in Spain where people driving (not all o f  c o u r s e!) are more selfish, bad manered or 'cateto' (ignorant to be kind) than in Malaga -meaning the Costa del Sol. There is nowere I get more annoyed! Here are some of the rules on the Coast:

1) Three lane motorway? Always drive on the extreme left or middle -right hand lane bites!

2) Somebody slow in front? Just drive two inches from their bumper.

3) Mirrors? For make-up. Flickers? For Christmas.

4) Roundabouts? Just take the short-cut.

5) Traffic lights? Green means go, yellow means go, red means go a bit faster!

6) Zebra crossings? Just pretty decoration

7) Seat-belts? ....hmmmmm.... what are they for?

8) parking spaces? why take one when I can take three?

9) Give way? Why, if I can go first!

10) Helmets on bikes? Too hot. Good for protecting elbows though!

11) Disrupting the flow by bad parking/stopping? Not my problem.

12) Alcohol? It doesn't affect me. That is for others.

Sorry, but this is a big country and the South is wonderful, the same as its people. But when it comes to driving it is simply a joke!

Like 0