I'm spanish, maybe moving to Tenerife (various questions)

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
26 Aug 2019 2:33 PM by Jeremiahxyz Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

I live in the UK and I might be moving to Tenerife with my mum. I was born there and I speak spanish but I've been living in the UK most of my life. 

I'm doing my own research as well as asking on here, but getting some answers on a forum might save me some time. I have a few questions, so if anyone can help with any of these I would appreciate it. 

* I would like to work from home, online. I already do this sporadically, and I have a business bank account in the UK, and I'm a sole trader. 

If I manage to do some work online over there, and set up a bank account there, could I just continue using my UK business account, be self employed in the UK, deal with HMRC as usual, and then pay myself into my spanish account? Would I be considered self employed over there? 

* Apart from working from home, I'd also like to work in the many bars and restaurants that are all around. I have experience, and I speak both languages, so I guess that gives me an advantage in terms of getting work (but that's just a hunch - is it true?). 

What I'd like to do is have a casual arrangement with many establishments, and work either whenever they need an extra pair of hands or when I want to work. Nothing set in stone. Is it realistic to expect it to be as casual and informal as that? 

* I know that it's easy to get an EHIC card, but what advantage do you really have by having one? Would it make any difference to me seeing as I'm spanish and I'd be living in my own country? Do I really need one? 

Also is there any equivalent of the NHS there? If not, how does healthcare work in Spain? 

* Are there any major differences between using banks and cash machines in Spain compared to the UK?