Legal to Drive or not?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
15 Dec 2015 3:43 PM by AlanB747 Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

Help needed please? I am a Spanish resident with a Spanish registered car and Spanish driving licence. I will be moving back to the UK at the end of February 2016. I have received an offer to buy my car from me a day or so before my departure date and sell me a UK Regd vehicle in its place. Such an arrangement is attractive to me but I am not sure whether it would be legal for me as a Spanish resident to take delivery of and drive a UK reg'd vehicle. De-registering as a resident before taking delivery of the car seems a possible way to overcome this but I would need to make the trip home using my Spanish Licence as I will not be able to exchange this for a UK one until I actually arrive back in the UK and get a UK address. However,I have been told by several people that it is illegal for a Spanish non-resident to hold and/or drive a vehicle using a Spanish Licence. Is there a way of dealing with this situation through Trafico which would enable me to legally drive my ‘new’ car back to the UK and change my licence as soon as possible afterwards?

Like 0      
15 Dec 2015 4:08 PM by mariedav Star rating in Ciudad Quesada. 1223 posts Send private message

Direct from the DVLA website:

You can drive in Great Britain on a full, valid driving licence from another EU country until you’re 70, or for 3 years after becoming resident in Great Britain, whichever is longer.

Like 0      
15 Dec 2015 4:55 PM by Mickyfinn Star rating in Spain and France. 1833 posts Send private message

.And in any event Spanish law only applies in Spain. Not France or UK. Make an advanced appointment in UK on line for an MOT if you need one and keep a copy.

This message was last edited by Mickyfinn on 15/12/2015.

Like 0