Does anyone know?...and opinions please!

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
31 Aug 2007 12:00 AM by jenna161205 Star rating in Cardiff, UK - moving.... 38 posts Send private message

Hello all, I posted a thread a week or so back about moving to Spain next year, and I'm planning to gig around restaurants, hotels etc as a jazz singer.

In the UK, singers generally have to have an agent or be registered with an entertainments agency to get gigs - does anyone know if it is the same in Spain (We're moving to Costa Blanca) or if I can market myself and find my own work? I'm hoping I can do it myself so I don't have an agency taking % of what I earn. 

Also, I'm keen to know what people generally like as entertainment when they eat out/go out for a drink.  I wouldn't really class myself as a caberet artist, I mainly sing musical theatre, jazz, easy listening (Eva Cassidy, Sarah Maclachen etc) So let me know if this kind of music would put you off your food in case I need to rethink my songs!! Or if theres any other genres of music I should add.

Thanks in advance Jenna xxx

Like 0      
01 Sep 2007 12:28 AM by mariadecastro Star rating in Algeciras (Cadiz). 9402 posts Send private message

mariadecastro´s avatar

You can promote yourself. Get registered as autonomo and pay VAT and Income Tax ( IVA and IRPF).

Best wishes!

M

Maria L. de Castro, JD, MA

Lawyer

Director www.costaluzlawyers.es

El blog de Maria

Like 0      
01 Sep 2007 8:50 AM by johnone Star rating in La Reserva de Marbel.... 233 posts Send private message

johnone´s avatar

Hi Jenna