Do I have to pay the sales commission if I pull out of the sale?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
11 Apr 2015 7:57 PM by Rosanna Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

I am new to this discussion forum and new to selling a property in Spain.Please can anyone tell me if the Sales Commission Agreement that I have signed with my estate agent when he found me a buyer is legally binding as I have decided that I do not now want to carry on with selling my property as I think the exchange rate has gone against me.I do not want to let the buyer down but cannot afford to lose 15,000 Euros because of the weak Euro.When the agent first valued it and put it on the market the Euro was much stronger.What is my legal position.The buyer deposited 3000 Euros with the esate agent but no contract has been signed yet.

Like 0      
11 Apr 2015 8:07 PM by scubamike Star rating in Murcia province . 218 posts Send private message

scubamike´s avatar

Depending on the contract wording If the agent has introduced a buyer ready willing and able to enter into a contract the agent has done the job you asked him to do and he is entitled to payment I suggest you take legal advice if he presses for payment preferably with a lawyer not connected to the agent Depending on the commission payable it may be cheaper to continued with the sale even though the currencies have fluctuated 

Like 1      
12 Apr 2015 12:07 AM by camposol Star rating in Camposol. 1406 posts Send private message

It is normal for the seller to pay the buyer double the deposit if he pulls out. What is written in your contract?

If the buyer pulls out he loses his deposit

I agree that the exchange rate is a nightmare when selling now, but its going to get worse by the way things are going, so perhaps you have to put up with it.

Sorry, I should have paid more attention about the agents commission.