Personal Loans

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 Oct 2010 12:00 AM by Ziggyblue Star rating. 35 posts Send private message

This is my first time of posting and I had problems starting a new thread so apologies for putting it on the Spanish Mortgages thread.

I own a property in both Spain and the UK and am looking for a small personal loan to make improvements on my UK property. I have a UK bank account and have no mortgage on either property. My own bank in the UK don´t want to know as I am a Spanish resident. Does anyone have any ideas?  Or has any one got a similar loan from a Spanish bank?  Any ideas would be appreciated.

Like 0      
12 Oct 2010 9:02 PM by EOS Team Star rating in In Spain of course!. 4015 posts Send private message

EOS Team´s avatar

I would be surprised if a bank in Spain would give you a loan to fix up your property in UK....especially as they are not too keen at lending anyone anything these days.

However, if you are working and feel that you have a decent credit history then you could just ask them to see what they would say if you wanted a personal loan "to buy some new furniture" for example, and just see what they say.

Justin

Schools in Spain Guide | The Expat Files | Learn Spanish | Earn a living in Spain

Like 0      
12 Oct 2010 9:11 PM by Ziggyblue Star rating. 35 posts Send private message

What difference does it make what I need the money for as long as I can prove I can repay it? 

Like 0      
12 Oct 2010 9:16 PM by EOS Team Star rating in In Spain of course!. 4015 posts Send private message

EOS Team´s avatar

I suppose it shouldn't but if you tell the bank that the money is going abroad then they may class that as "high risk" and not lend it to you.