How to estimate occupancy rates

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
08 May 2009 12:00 AM by absie Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hi everyone, 

I'm about to complete on a 3 bed apartment in Medina Elvira outside Granada.  I'm working out rental options and potential income and wonder if anyone can advise what % of high, mid and low season occupancy I should estimate for.   The apartment is right on a golf course and is about 50 minutes from the mountains for skiing.   Any feedback would be useful as I'm very new to this!  Many thanks

Like 0      
09 May 2009 10:57 AM by claire T Star rating in Torremendo, Orihuela. 689 posts Send private message

EOS Supporter

Hi Absie and welcome to the forum!

You have asked an impossible question.  When I bought my property I was told by the agent I would get 30 - 40 weeks rental, then the agency they hired told me I'd be lucky to get 8.  They actually got me 1 week the first year!

The market is very slow for rentals as well as sales and my advice is:

• market your property to friends and family - that is where you will get the most rentals, at first anyway
  • use all the free ads you can get - put it onto Eye on Spain for a start
  • get a good management company - ask around and try to get recommendations
  • you can use one of the big rental companies but remember you will be one in thousands of properties
  • you need to keep the price really low as people are shopping around - don't expect to cover your mortgage
  • if you can afford it, get yourself a nice website that is compliant and can be found by Google
  • make sure your property is well furnished and well presented as competition is fierce

Sorry if that all sounds negative but I don't know anyone who is making money out of rentals at the moment.  If you can cover some of your costs then you are doing well.

All the best.

Like 0