Taxes in Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
29 Apr 2009 12:00 AM by gerkinsella Star rating in Dublin Ireland/Daya .... 35 posts Send private message

gerkinsella´s avatar

Hi all
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I am confused re what taxes I need to pay in Spain , I am a non Resident. Do I have to pay Sumo and non resident taxes?? Do I need to use a solicter do pay both of these taxes???

We have our property since May 2008

I would be very grateful for your advise.

Thanks

Geraldine

Like 0      
30 Apr 2009 6:32 PM by neutral Star rating in Dublin/Benalmadena C.... 172 posts Send private message

As far as I know you'll need to pay

1: IBI tax (council tax)

2: Basura  (rubbish collection fee)

3: La Renta Tax.

You may pay a year in arrears on La Renta the other 2 I'm not sure Maybe some else can answer you better.

Like 0      
30 Apr 2009 6:57 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4551 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

Sumo tax only applicable in Japan (sorry, couldn't resist it!);

SUMA applies to Costa Blanca, but is same thing as IBI. You will be liable for 2009 onwards. 2008 should have been paid by previous owner, since they owned it on Jan 1st of that year. Bills aren't usually sent out until second half of the year - which makes it difficult for the previous owner to pay 2008 if you bought it in May. If it's a new build, you may have to wait a couple of years for the council to sort themselves out - and then bill you for several years at once!

You can do your own renta (income) tax, and there are people on here who will explain how, or you may prefer to pay a professional asesoria fiscal to do it on your behalf. 2008 payment due by either end of June or end of December 2009 - can't remember which for non-residents?

"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please"

Mark Twain

Like 0