Capital gains question

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 Nov 2021 2:16 PM by Jpb396 Star rating. 6 posts Send private message

Hi,

I am a uk resident, selling a property in Spain. I have had my 3% deduction passed to the tax authorities and my solicitor has told me that, as we have made a profit, we will have to pay more within 30 days. Although on paper we have made a decent profit, it is at least in part due to the work we carried out. We have installed air con, double glazing, upgraded electrics and plumbing and a new water heater. But our solicitor says none of this can be considered against the liability, and that only changes to the structure or footprint can be submitted. Anyone with experience of this, who can advise if this is so? I’m sure when we bought we were told we could offset these improvements when we sold. TIA

Like 0      
13 Nov 2021 5:23 PM by acer Star rating. 1529 posts Send private message

I had something similar, but produced a list of expenses, with receipts and avoided CGT. 

Some solicitors in Spain forget who is their client.

Like 0      
13 Nov 2021 5:52 PM by Jpb396 Star rating. 6 posts Send private message

Hi acer. Thanks for the info. Can I ask how you did it? Via your solicitor or some other way? Unfortunately I am not in Spain right now and my solicitor has Power of Attorney. But I have invoices for everything.

Like 0      
13 Nov 2021 5:58 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4552 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar