Spanish legal fees - taken all of our Interest on deposit

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
18 Oct 2017 9:23 AM by Andrew Wilford Star rating. 189 posts Send private message

Hi Fazarelli ... I don't want to debate this further other than to say ... as previously ... 30% amounts to "theft" from the poor unsuspecting client. However just to give the comment a Caveat it really depends on how much you are "chasing". For say 20 grand it is not excessive considering Court costs but then THESE SHOULD BE clawed back from the Bank in costs in the event of a win; the reverse applies of course if you loose!!!!! All I can say when chasing 200 grand I would NEVER agree to it.

With regard to the interest my advice has been different ... 6% and compound but then I AM NOT A LAWYER!

This message was last edited by Andrew Wilford on 18/10/2017.

Like 0      
18 Oct 2017 9:48 AM by mariadecastro Star rating in Algeciras (Cadiz). 9402 posts Send private message

mariadecastro´s avatar

Interests, by Law and according to Case Law is not compounded and is the legal rate since 1999.

Maria L. de Castro, JD, MA

Lawyer

Director www.costaluzlawyers.es

El blog de Maria

Like 1      
18 Oct 2017 9:50 AM by Andrew Wilford Star rating. 189 posts Send private message

OK ... not the information I have been given but never mind! Either way the Interest is for the Plaintiff and NOT the Lawyers. The COStS are for the Lawyer.

Like 0      
18 Oct 2017 10:03 AM by fazarelli Star rating. 282 posts Send private message

You seemed pretty sure of yourself before. It's been stated on here dozens of times that it's not compound interest, and it's usually around 4%.