Nie or passport numbers needed when buying goods.

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
13 Dec 2012 3:19 PM by steve and anita Star rating in in San Cayetano. 324 posts Send private message

steve and anita´s avatar

Hi all, I work in a garage and have recently heard rumours that you have to get the customers NIE or passport number for every invoice, or the accountants will not accept the facturas, can any one shed any light onto this matter. Apparently its a recent new law!!!

Regards, Steve.

Like 0      
13 Dec 2012 4:58 PM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

I remember that when dealing with some supplier as long ago as 15 years one was required to produce an NIE. 

I believe it was a requirement when the NIE’s were first introduced, about 15- 20 years ago, but like so many things in Spain it got forgotten.

Like 0      
13 Dec 2012 5:04 PM by steve and anita Star rating in in San Cayetano. 324 posts Send private message

steve and anita´s avatar

Yes , but this every customers car we work on, whether to do an oil change or a full service and other repairs, have heard we have to get the customers nie or passport details to go on the invoice  !!!!

Like 0      
13 Dec 2012 5:15 PM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

As I said, yes I believe that is the law, and has been for many years,  although it has not been applied.

With the NIE every transaction, bank account etc is available for inspection on the internet by the Hacienda.

Like 0      
13 Dec 2012 6:29 PM by tamaraessex Star rating in Colmenar, Malaga. 508 posts Send private message

tamaraessex´s avatar
I have to show my NIE if l use my Spanish debit card in Dunnes, the furnishing store in Velez-Málaga. I recall showing it also if using my British credit card in the pasr, which perhaps makes more sense.