Hopeing to move to Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
04 Sep 2012 11:13 AM by seaviewgirl Star rating. 9 posts Send private message

Hi I'm new to this me and my family are researching moving to Spain it is something we have wanted to do for a long long time! We are looking for a better way of life and feel Spain is for us! My other half will continue to work in Ireland he works away from home for 3 weeks at a time so I'm use to being on my own with the kids so as far as that goes it will remain the same! My children are young enough to go into Spanish school so we are looking at areas for now! I am interested in the nerja area can anyone give me some info on every day life schools and children's activities in that area! Thats it for now but I'm sure il be back with lots more questions. Thanks

Like 0      
04 Sep 2012 7:54 PM by camposol Star rating in Camposol. 1406 posts Send private message

Before you move check:

Healthcare-will you qualify for the Spanish Health system? If not, can you afford insurance?

Do you know the costs involved in schooling in the public system?

What support will you have if someone in your family is ill or hospitalised-will you be able to stay with your child 24 hours as is expected in Spain? who would look after the other children? Will your husband be able to join you in Spain at a moment's notice?

It's one thing, being separated from your husband in the UK,but quite another in a foreign land-you could feel isolated and vulnerable. It's a lot to deal with.

The requirements for residency have changed, eg you have to prove you  have health care cover and a certain amount of income.Do you have a job to go to, would you have enough money to live on if you couldn't work? 

Do you know how family benefit will be affected by your move?