Driving in Flip Flops

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
15 Jul 2009 7:12 PM by shropshall Star rating. 8 posts Send private message

I find it amazing when I read about you being stopped once or twice a week! We have a holiday home in Murcia which we love and we have so far never been stopped.

I have been driving for 40 years in the West Midlands and have never been stopped on a roadside check!

Call me a Cynic but do you get a receipt after being fined? Are the Police on some sort of commision for every fine imposed?

Like 0      
16 Jul 2009 9:54 AM by canon999 Star rating in Paraiso El Alto. 7 posts Send private message

canon999´s avatar

Hi shropshall,

The very point of my previous point was that you CAN drive around the UK for 40 years,and if you are a law abiding citizen you will NOT get stopped, nor come across any 'road blocks'. Here in Spain they stop you indiscriminately, for no apparent reason other than to find some reason to 'fine you'.

Justin in a post below (in one of his more serious moments), commented that he found their actions both "unecessary" and "intimidating". Often there will be one or two officers standing in the middle on the road with arms folded pointing at drivers to pull over for no apparent reason. What their criteria for stopping you at that time, may well vary depending on time of day and location.Police along the Costa del Sol are very active in this regard, and it strikes me as being very strange that this area has the highest density of expats and tourists than anywhere else in Spain, which can be 'rich pickings' for them.