Beginners step by step guide to Polaris completion

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
19 Aug 2008 12:00 AM by michaelrose Star rating. 5 posts Send private message

Hello,
      we are complete novices and found the whole purchase of an apartment in Condado Alahama (Jardines) very scary. Not helped very much by Polaris pushing but giving little advice on what you need to do. We made it up as we went along, it was painful but after speaking to others who were also completing we weren't alone. I hope the points below help,

1. Get a solicitor.
We never had one at the start but hired one for completion.  We hadn't a clue how to get one so spoke to the agent and were recommend Pablo Fernandez Marcos. 0034 96 692 75 84, Pablo has English staff and we dealt with Christine and Tania who were excellent in guiding us through everything plus were always willing to give advise. Costs were 800euros, if you had a mortgage or 600euros without.

They also offer other services, i.e. for 60 euros/year will deal with electiricity/water suppliers who I have heard are problematic. Also will handle wealth/rates forms and made a point of saying they are still available after completion so don't simple walk away.

To get going they require copy of contracts, passport etc which I just scanned and emailed across.

2. Polaris.
We dealt with Silvia, we've heard they can be hit an miss but felt Polaris only looked after themselves and no one else. Very disappointed, they contact you to hassle you but don't explain the process hence the reason we are writting this item.

3. Mortgage.