electrical items

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
15 Jul 2008 12:00 AM by barney111 Star rating. 1133 posts Send private message

I am a complete novice with anything electrical - can just about wire a plug! Can any expert out there answer the following question? 

Do I need a continental adapter for every electrical item I bring with me or can I use 1 adapter in the wall socket and connect a 4 way English trailer socket. Thus I could connect computer, printer,modem and phone with their original English plugs.

It may seem simple to me but no doubt there will be technical reasons why I can't do it!

Barry

Condado de Alhama

Like 0      
15 Jul 2008 9:41 AM by Aelred the Ready Star rating. 11 posts Send private message

Aelred the Ready´s avatar
Hi Barney
Yes you could do as you say, however you will find that adapters are very flimsy, and you would be much better putting a spanish plug in the lead. This is particularly important for computers as poor connetions to the power can cause computers to crash and in some cases can damage them.
The best solution would be to purchase new leads as most computers and peripherals have plug in ones, or at least change the plugs to spanish plugs.
Hope this is of help

This message was last edited by Aelred the Ready on 7/15/2008.

Like 0      
15 Jul 2008 4:31 PM by morerosado Star rating. 6927 posts Send private message

morerosado´s avatar
Don't forget a surge protector too. 

Might seem obvious, I don't know. Spain has surges regularly. We lost the programme (so engr said) we were using on our washing machine when we suffered one. 

We now use one of those that you plug into one socket & that covers the TV & DVD & Telmicro sat box & the fridge freezer. We move it just when we use washing machine & only plug washing machine in when we need to use it.

Like 0