DNI requirement. for community proxy vote

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
07 Nov 2007 12:00 AM by tiffer Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hi,

Our community committee has stated that for my proxy vote to be used I must supply my DNI identification with my proxy vote.

As a non resident, I do not have a DNI number. I supplied a copy of my passport, and this was deemed not acceptable.

My research tells me the following :-

This contravenes the European Convention on Human Rights in that they are differencing between Citizens from other European Countries. It is not necessary under the Charter for a citizen from another Country to obtain another form of identification. In other words a Passport is valid evidence of identification.
This Committee have contravened that in saying that only DNI document is evidence of identification.

Can someone confirm this for me please.

Like 0      
07 Nov 2007 5:47 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4552 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

???

Didn't know you could buy a property in Spain without having a NIE. (Foreigner's version of DNI) Under EU law it is no longer a requirement to have ID issued in another member state, and as such you are correct in saying (only) your passport is valid as ID. But that is different from your NIE number, which is surely still required for fiscal purposes, such as paying the taxes due on your property? So maybe your community administrators are just asking for your NIE? However, if it's actual identification they want, then quote the EU law chapter and verse - your passport is the only legal identification document available to British citizens now, thanks to the morons in Brussels.

"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please"

Mark Twain

Like 0      
07 Nov 2007 7:07 PM by Karensun Star rating in Orihuela Costa. 1474 posts Send private message