Moving to Costa del Sol

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 May 2015 1:13 PM by donnacarney Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hi,

My partner and I are thinking aobut moving to the Costa del Sol area soemtime in September (possibly Mijas or Benalmadena as we have been told there are loads of expat British there) and was wondering if anyone could give us some advice. I am a qualified Nurse and my partner an English language Teacher.  We have been applying for jobs online but have been told that it is better to move out there and then look for jobs.  We were going to find a property pay a years rent and try and find work  once we are out there. Do people on this site who live in the area think this is a good idea. 

We would really appreciate your advice and help.

Thanks,

Donna from Liverpool

Like 0      
12 May 2015 2:43 PM by scambuster Star rating. 144 posts Send private message

You are right to rent first to see if you really want to live in Spain, contracts I believe run for 11 months. Mijas used to be typically Spanish but very touristy now and yes loads of expats there and in Benalmadena, completely different areas though. Look down from the top in Mijas at the huge urban coastal sprawl below you, pretty damn awful sight, will probably make you prefer Mijas. As for jobs, I'd really try and secure those before you go, it's not that easy to get jobs in Spain, everyone wants them including locals. How good is your Spanish too, if rusty or poor, you will need to improve to compete? I know middle class English people who've lived there for over 25 years, fluent in Spanish yet still scratching about for a living and they've had to claim Spanish benefits in the past, whilst their property prices dropped a bomb, they cannot now buy back in the UK.

Above all, do plenty of homework on where, jobs, language, problems etc.

Like 3