Large Endesa Bills Despite No Power Usage

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
29 Dec 2014 10:24 AM by Gary001 Star rating. 16 posts Send private message

Hi Everyone,

A couple of months ago I re-established electricitysupply to my property in Spain and after the usual reconnection/new contract fee I have been receiving bills of over EUR100 per month for the past two months.

The property was unoccupied during this period so I was completely surprised that my monthly bill in Spain is close to my annual bill in my flat in the UK. When I spoke to a representative at the local Endesa office, I was told that the high charge is due to the fact that I cave 3-phase supply to the property, as opposed to single-phase power. The 3-phase supply can deliver a maximum power of 10,392 kW.

Still, regardless of the phase of the power, I don't understand why the rate is so high even when no power is drawn. They say that if I change to a lower power rating then it may be that certain appliances will not work in the flat.

The power to my UK flat is single-phase and I don't think I suffer from the absence of appliances that operate at a higher power rating.

I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience.

Kind regards,

Gary

Like 0      
29 Dec 2014 10:35 AM by Team GB Star rating. 1245 posts Send private message

Team GB´s avatar

I was told that the high charge is due to the fact that I cave 3-phase supply to the property, as opposed to single-phase power. The 3-phase supply can deliver a maximum power of 10,392 kW.

Sounds like you were sold something you didn't need, with this sort of potencia you could run a small factory! With this type of supply I would imagine the standing charges, levies and VAT on top would come out at around 100€ per month

Maybe you could hire a electrician for an hour so he could evaluate your needs.

Like 0