Is it true?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
02 Sep 2013 2:31 PM by saljim Star rating. 14 posts Send private message

I have been told by an aquaintance ( ? ) that as an expat with a British passport that I am eligible to vote in a UK election, could anyone out there say if this is true and if so then how do I do it?

Like 0      
02 Sep 2013 2:35 PM by elaineG Star rating in Spain . 409 posts Send private message

Yes it is but only for I believe 15 years after you leave UK.

As a resident in Spain you can voter in the Spanish local and European elections

Like 0      
02 Sep 2013 2:40 PM by saljim Star rating. 14 posts Send private message

Hi there,

Thank you for your quick reply. I only arrived here in Oct. last year so could you tell me how I do it as I'm a complete rookie.

Like 0      
02 Sep 2013 2:45 PM by camposol Star rating in Camposol. 1406 posts Send private message

You have to write to the town hall in the district in which you lived and paid Council tax,  before moving to Spain;they will send you an application form. You can appoint someone to vote by proxy, if you like or vote in person if you are in the UK. We did this, and voted in the General Election and Council Elections, though I have let it lapse now. They will send you reminder forms to send back within a time limit, if you want to stay on the list for future elections.

Like 0      
02 Sep 2013 2:49 PM by elaineG Star rating in Spain . 409 posts Send private message

Google:--       right to vote in UK after leaving

for full info.

Like 0      
02 Sep 2013 4:16 PM by marcbernard Star rating in Marina Alta; Alicant.... 254 posts Send private message