Residentia obligations.

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
30 Apr 2013 9:15 PM by Acapulco Star rating in Costa Blanca South.. 342 posts Send private message

Acapulco´s avatar

I know you have to have a Residentia to sign on to the Spanish health system etc but obviously signing on to the health system is optional. When ouy have the Residentia are there any things that you have to do by law ( e.g.pay Spanish Tax) or can you just carry on being like a holiday maker.

Also are there any legal obligations you should comply with if you live in Spain 11 months of the year.?

i have been a resident for 5 years now and have gone as "Spanish" as possible, these questions are to clarify points that cam e up in conversation recently, there seems to be considerable confusion.

If you're going through hell keep on going, you might get out before the devil even knows you're there.

Like 0      
01 May 2013 8:17 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

Just to avoid confusion.      Residencia for EU citizens was abolished in April 2007, however it still exists for non-EU citizens, thus say a Filipino or a American must get one.  

Since 2007 EU citizens who spend, or intend to spend,  3 months permanently in Spain have been  required to  register on the EU Citizens Registration (some people albeit in correctly, continue to call this Residencia).  It is valid indefinitely.

The Hacienda will tell you that once you have so registered you are also tax resident, however, some posters are certain that is incorrect, but let’s not go there as most who will register will probably have come to live in Spain and thus will spend over 183 days in Spain.