Capital gains tax

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
26 Jul 2010 12:00 AM by amatista Star rating. 440 posts Send private message

Good morning,

A simple question (if you understand these things). I have a property worth 100,000 (on escritura although I paid more). If this property sells for 200,000, how much capital gains tax will I have to pay? I am a resident, but isn´t the tax now 16% for residents and non-residents. Also I haven´t paid tax for 12 months as I am no longer working, so will this affect the capital gains tax I have to pay? I understand there is a retention of between 3-5% of sale price of the property at the notary but this would work out at much less than 16% of the profit (on a 100,000 return), so  how exactly does it work?

Also, how much would I expect to pay for an ´abogado´ etc. Total costs without estate agent and capital gains tax? Thanks,

Amatista

Like 0      
26 Jul 2010 11:45 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4551 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

There are various deductions allowable, such as the initial purchase costs (notary, land registry, transfer tax etc.) so that will help reduce your total liability. The retention at the notary only applies to non-residents, since residents should declare their capital gains as part of their annual tax declaration - even if you are not working now, you should still do one, even if it's a zero declaration. A gestor will charge maybe €50 to do this for you, and can advise you in more detail about capital gains tax. You will need to do an annual declaration anyway in order to obtain a certificate of fiscal residency from hacienda, which you will need to present to the notary in order to avoid the retention in the first place.