Spanish Taxes

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 Sep 2009 12:00 AM by Holdtight Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

Hi, I am very new to spain as my father has just passed away and left us a lot of worry in the form of a villa in Monte Cid Alicante, I now know we have to pay IHT and lawyers fees which are very high and wipe out all his money he left us. But my biggest worry now is that we have to pay so many taxes and the spanish housing market like the uk is not good for selling.

Please could someone explain to me as a non resident what taxes I expect to pay until we sell the property, I understand the wealth tax has been abolished and we have to now pay rental tax even if we do not rent the property out,  if so what would be the tax in Monte Cid , if we did not rent the place out. 24% is terrible and I can not beleive we have to pay 24% of a rental income if we do not rent the place out,  what other nightmare taxes do we have to pay can anyone tell me.

People keep saying that we need to keep the property,  and we keep saying that we can only just about aford our house in UK and we can not cope with other bills for a proptery which may take years to sell in spain. 

Like me is there other people who are annoyed at the taxes us uk citazens have to pay in spain, as if we do not get ripped off enough in the UK.

Many thanks for any replies

Kind regards

Like 0      
12 Sep 2009 2:19 PM by kev2006n Star rating in Sussex and Playa Fla.... 344 posts Send private message

Hi Holdtight

This may help

''Property for own use 
Form 210 
Filing period: January 1 - June 20 of the following year. 
(Form 214 is the single form for declaring both property tax and income tax, with the filing period any time during the following year.)