Spanish Re-mortgage

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
21 Oct 2008 12:00 AM by Loulabelle31 Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hey there.  I'm new to this kind of site so don't really know how to start but here goes.  

We have a villa that we bought as an investment 8 years ago.  As times are now tight and both of our jobs are suffering we need to release some equity in the house to pay the mortgage until it is sold (which in this climate may take some time!!).  Every spanish bank I get access to is in Spanish and UK sites insinuate that re-mortgage is not easy.  As we need to do this from the UK with a simple trip to Spain to "seal the deal" can anyone let me know if they have tried to do this before and how easy a process it is.  Any ideas would be welcome.

Many thanks.

Like 0      
21 Oct 2008 10:23 PM by claire T Star rating in Torremendo, Orihuela. 688 posts Send private message

EOS Supporter
Hi and welcome to the forum!  The re-mortgage market in Spain is still in its infancy but we have a mortgage broker who posts regularly here called Smiley.  He is your best bet - I'm sure he will drop in at some point!

You don't say where you are but we are based in Torrevieja and are still selling - albeit slowly!  If you really want to sell at the moment you need to be willing to be really competitive on price as the buyers who are out there are looking for bargains.  

Best of luck 

Like 0      
22 Oct 2008 10:55 AM by sharonw Star rating in Coin, Malaga. 281 posts Send private message

sharonw´s avatar
Hi Loulabelle31

Although re mortgaging can be straight forward, most lenders will shy away from a purpose release such as you mention in your post. Re mortgaging costs are high - 5%-6%  and interest rates for equity release are higher than the norm.