Are There 2 Torreviejas?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
10 Oct 2008 12:00 AM by bobaol Star rating. 2253 posts Send private message

bobaol´s avatar

As an avid reader of many forums relating to the area I have chosen to make my home (none as good as this, I hasten to add), I find some surprising posts about a place I have been visiting for the past seven years.  It begs the question, Are there 2 Torreviejas?  The one these people go to and the one I visit?  Am I living in a parallel universe to these people?

Their Torrevieja is dangerous, crime-ridden, muggers on every street corner and they daren’t go to any of the markets because they will have their handbags snatched, wallets nicked, be conned by every trader they have the temerity to speak to and you will be left lying in the gutter bleeding from every bit of your body that can bleed.

My Torrevieja has a thriving street culture, wonderful markets with friendly stall-holders (alright, they’re trying to sell you something but what’s new?).  The lookey-lookey men are a pleasant distraction and a polite no is immediately accepted.  Never had anything nicked, camera bag strap slashed or seen any violence whatsoever.

Their Torrevieja has a home broken into every minute.  One poster says every flat in his complex has been broken into (some several times) and the security guards and police totally ignore it.

My Torrevieja does have crime and I’m not denying it.  However, my flat is only a couple of k away from the every flat broken into and there have been 3 burglaries in my street in the last 7 years.  My new place, north of Torrevieja, is a new build and has had no break-ins at all.  The security guard waves and smiles as he walks past and the police presence, in my new place and in Torrevieja, is very high and reassuring.

Their Torrevieja is, to paraphrase, a toilet and covered in graffiti.