Fraudulent 'Owners'

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
19 Oct 2008 8:54 AM by papriv Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

WOW!!! This is some debate going on here.

If I might be permitted to throw in my bit.  I cannot see what all the fuss is about.  I give my details out almost everyday on the internet when either registering on a shopping site or a membership site.  How do I know that any of them are not real and are just there to rip me off. 

I have been booking holidays on-line for 6 years and on every occasion it was a different property because I like to visit different parts of Spain. So I dealt with 6 different people.  None of them offered me any kind of security that the property did exist. Not that I asked either.  Perhaps that's because I trust people.  In each case my money was paid up front at between 4 and 6 weeks prior to my travelling.

I now own a villa on the Costa Tropical.  I use a website that takes a commission on every booking.  Not had much success with them though. But I will say this.  I am allowed to withdraw my money from their account BEFORE the guest has taken their holiday.  I have to pay an additional fee for this but I can do it.  My point is that there may not be any sure fire way of preventing a fraud so trust must come into it somewhere.

If all trust is removed from the world what state would we be in.  Yes of course we have to be careful but to start implying that chelseaphil's site may be 'dodgy', because that is how I have read some of the postings here.  Is not fair.  He may not have got it quite right with the request for utility bills and or escrituras but for goodness sake at least he is doing something about it.

Like 0      
19 Oct 2008 10:06 AM by peteranne Star rating in York & Los Montesino.... 111 posts Send private message

peteranne´s avatar