Can I afford to live in Spain - Serious question

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
21 Jul 2008 12:00 AM by ivorb Star rating in Durban, East Coast S.... 36 posts Send private message

ivorb´s avatar
Hi Guys,  very broad question but just need some guidance.  55 year old South African, existing accounting software consultant, (Accpac ERP to be specific), the product of which is not used in Spain. This means probably doing similar type job with accounting software of sorts. An accountant by profession looking to earn Euros for another 10 years or so. Arriving with my wife, 2 dogs probably Feb 2009. I should have about Euros 250,000 in my pocket, looking for a house, (fenced for dogs), respectable size, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms etc. (Very spoilt here in South Africa with huge home, couple of lounges, parklike garden, 2 cars etc etc). I am happy to mortgage even at my age and pump the other half into a business or similar.  Will probably receive another Euros 1000 per month from here (South Africa), (part pension).

My question: Is this a pipedream or can we make it and live fairly well. Don't really want to go backwards. Appreciate anyone's thoughts on the matter.

Like 0      
21 Jul 2008 7:17 PM by Acapulco Star rating in Costa Blanca South.. 342 posts Send private message

Acapulco´s avatar
I would think that your 25K euros would get you the property you want a little inland. If you could earn another 1000 euros a month you could live o.k.on that Iwould think but finding the workin your line of business might be a problem.
I do not profess to be any kind of authority but have recently looked long and hard at property and cost of living with a view to moving to Spain myself .
We found our property with the help of an excellent estate agent who frequents this forum.
Good luck.