We're losing our postal service

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
23 Jun 2015 11:38 AM by amogles Star rating in El Campello (holiday.... 174 posts Send private message

I have been informed by a letter from Correos that as my urbanisation has an insufficient population density and an insufficient number of postal items being delivered, that as from September postal deliveries are being discontinued.

The letter states that I can get a postal box at the post office (we have one on the urbanisation) and that alternatively, the post office will store letters for a certain number of days and I need to ask for them at the post office.

This raises some questions

a) isn't there a law of some sort in Spain that says every domicile muist have a letter box? Unless I go to the post office regularly to ask (and this is difficult seeing I'm a non resident) how am I to know of any official notices that are being sent to me?

b) can I have a post box at the post office as a non resident?

Like 0      
23 Jun 2015 12:29 PM by Poppyseed Star rating. 897 posts Send private message

I tried to find out about this some time ago as for some reason our urbanization of 230 apartments/houses does not have post boxes, the residents voted to install them but madam president has failed to do so. We have a villa so installed a post box on the gate but the post office said 'no' even though a postman comes every day on a scooter and deliveres to madam president, nor do they hold our post for any length of time I have heard they just destroy it. From what I could find out via the internet I don't think the correos are under any obligation to ensure deliveries to every address, they can pick and choose so basically at their mercy. Re PO boxes, I don't see non rresident status being a problem but you may find like we did the boxes are all taken and there are non available to rent!

Poppyseed