Long Term Lets/ Long Term Problems?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
24 May 2007 12:00 AM by brian755 Star rating in your mind and any wh.... 52 posts Send private message

brian755´s avatar

Hello every one!

As an owner I do prefer to rent out long term rather than the logistics of the short term rents.

You do not get as much money, but at least it’s a one off client and then sorted until that year has passed.

Make sure you get a contract signed, but never do it for just a straight 12 months. Do a 10 month with an optional 2 months.

This way the client will have to honor the contract and leave if you so wish at the end of the 12 months.

If you do not do what I am suggesting then you will have a lot of trouble if the guest decides to stay on, apparently a 12 month contract gives them extra rights to stay on. Please seek expert advice on this matter as I am not a lawyer. I am just trying to be helpful.

Also it’s very easy just to see the euros in front of your eyes when accepting a long-term rental but I urge you to not only consider your own welfare of your own property, but if you are in a communal area then please consider your neighbors.

There’s nothing worse that having noisy or badly behaved tenants for all concerned.

It’s actually not even fair for the renters if they are not aware of community rules, only to find out that they also are not suited to the environment.

Please be aware of your own responsibilities when you are an owner renting out, if you take the attitude of “I’m alright Jack” then ok you might think you are being clever but to who? It will come around only to bite you in the a-s-! One day soon, so have a little hind site here and try your best to get suitable tenants as it works both ways for all concerned.