Paro help!

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
04 Oct 2010 12:00 AM by mart101 Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

Hi, ive been working in majorca now for a few years but unfortunately this winter im struggling to find work. A friend of mine suggested that i should claim my paro as ive got more than enough work contracts to do so.. Im not really sure where to start, so any help what so ever with what i need or where i have to go would be very much appreciated...

thank you

Martin

Like 0      
04 Oct 2010 1:54 PM by joanmalaga Star rating in Costa del Sol. 419 posts Send private message

You need to go down to your local social security office, they will advise you of all the documents you need and how to proceed.

You can claim paro as long as you have worked on the books for over 12 months in the past 5 years.

Maximum you will receive is 24 months and normally its 3 months for every year you have worked on the books.

Amount is normally around 70% of your salary for the first 3 months and then 60% thereafter.

It takes around 6 weeks for the 1st payment to come through and then monthly after that.

Try to be there as early as you can as there are normally very long queues and people at the social security are not always very friendly.

Having experienced this process a couple of times myself i can guarantee you its not the easiest of tasks!

Good luck,

Joan

Like 0      
16 Feb 2011 11:53 PM by JayceeIsland Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

Queston to Joan .. thanks

i lived/worked in spain for 16 years .. (same company - and have my work history) I was made redundant .. went to the paro office did the baja and applied for paro. ( or so i thought) .. came out with a E10

i went to the unemployment office in UK and applied from there to have the paro imported .. Aparently it was not with in the 15 days ... how important is that and any way round it ?